Murfreesboro DUI Defense Lawyer

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol & Drugs

Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs places everyone on the road in danger. Intoxicated drivers drift over lane lines, run stop signs and red lights, and engage in other behaviors that can easily cause accidents. As a result, Tennessee law enforcement officials are quick to investigate possible drunk drivers and to make DUI arrests. There are some cases, however, in which police officers are too eager and arrest an innocent person. Wilson, Howser & Oliver can provide a Murfreesboro attorney with the knowledge and experience to fight your DUI.

Fighting a DUI in Tennessee

In order for a highway patrol officer to make a DUI arrest, he or she must witness signs of intoxicated driving firsthand or else be "tipped off" by a third party. The officer must then investigate to determine whether or not the driver is truly intoxicated. An officer's failure to conduct field sobriety tests or a breath test could be grounds to fight a DUI charge. Breath test results can also be incorrect if the machine is not properly calibrated, giving you and your lawyer a chance to file a motion to have your case thrown out.

Tennessee DUI Charges & Penalties

First DUI

  • Misdemeanor
  • Jail for no less than 48 consecutive hour to 11 months and 29 days
  • As a condition of probation: community service for a period of 24 hours in 3 shifts of 8 consecutive hours each
  • Fine of $350 - $1,000
  • License suspension for 1 year

Second DUI

  • Misdemeanor
  • Jail for no less than 45 consecutive hours to 11 months and 29 days
  • Possible required completion of a court-approved alcohol or drug treatment program
  • Fine of $600 - $3,500
  • License suspension for 2 years

Third DUI

  • Misdemeanor
  • Jail for no less than 120 consecutive days to 11 months and 29 days
  • Fine of $1,100 - $10,000
  • License suspension for 6 years

Fourth or Subsequent DUI

  • Felony DUI
  • Jail for no less than 150 consecutive days or a prison sentence of the appropriate range for a Class E felony
  • Fine of $3,000 - $15,000
  • License suspension for 8 years

Contact a DUI Attorney in Murfreesboro, TN

If you have been arrested for DUI in or near Murfreesboro, do not hesitate to retain an aggressive defense attorney. Wilson, Howser & Oliver has more than 30 years of combined experience and can fight tirelessly on your behalf to defeat the charges filed against you. We work as a team to investigate our clients' cases and to build the strongest possible defenses. You will also have a say in the direction of your case when you retain our firm. We keep our clients involved and value their input throughout the course of their cases. Contact us today to learn exactly how we can fight your DUI!

  • Memberships
    & Recognitions

  • Tennessee Bar Association
  • Rutherford and Cannon Co. Bar Association
  • Avvo